Windows 7 – My favourite feature and biggest gripe

February 25, 2009

After using Windows 7 for just over a month, I still maintain my overall positive impression of the new operating system. One of the things I like the most is the ability to “maximize” windows to half the screen size. I believe this new feature was intended for the ever-increasing size of widescreen monitors… but I don’t have a large screen, on the contrary, I’ve been using it on my laptop. Oh well, I like being able to quickly split the screen evenly and work between two open applications.

However, my biggest gripe with Windows 7 lies within the new taskbar. In most situations, I like that it keeps the taskbar uncluttered and organized. But when using Windows Live Messenger, it takes two steps to open a conversation window. This is especially annoying when chatting because usually one is switching back and forth between multiple conversation windows. It’s possible to open the most recent active window by holding Ctrl and clicking on the application… but it still requires an extra step. This isn’t a huge issue, as it’s possible to switch back to the old taskbar. I guess we’ll see if this changes when Windows 7 is released.

Leave a Reply

