Camera was once broken, but now is fixed

June 15, 2009

About a week ago, I sent my old Canon Powershot A75 back to Canon for repairs. The problem was that the LCD started flickering a purple-ish hue and displayed vertical lines across the creen. It only exhibited these symptoms when in the shooting mode, so captured photos came out distorted. However, the playback and menus worked fine. I was disappointed that my camera broke, but I figured it was about time… I bought it back in 2005 or 2006. But then, I remembered reading about a Canon A75 advisory notice a couple years ago. It was kind of far-fetched, imagining all the problems that could possibly arise… But, I thought that I would just check it out and see if it was related to the issue I was experiencing. To my surprise, it sounded very similar to my problem!

When the product is used in recording or playback mode, the LCD screen and/or electronic viewfinder may exhibit either a distorted image or no image at all.

Effective immediately, and regardless of warranty status, Canon will repair, free of charge, the products listed above exhibiting the above-mentioned malfunction if Canon determines that the malfunction is caused by the CCD image sensor.

I quickly called up Canon and the representative asked me to mail in my camera with a letter describing the problem. She told me that once they receive my camera, Canon will inspect it and decide whether it is covered by the advisory notice. So, I packaged it and sent it through Canada Post hoping for the best. I received an email from Canon a couple days later confirming the receipt of my camera. One week later, the fixed camera arrived at my door! I put the batteries back in my camera, and fired it back up… It works! Thank you Canon!

I am extremely pleased with Canon’s service, especially with the turnaround time and no-hassle repairs. The fact that they are still willing to fix a 3-4 year old camera (which is no longer covered by warranty) shows that they care about their customers and the quality of their products!

Leave a Reply

