June

June 26, 2010

June came and went just like that, I can’t believe it’s the end of June already! Highlights include my birthday, changing my schooling schedule, and getting some pretty awesome work done at Sybase… and watching the NHL/NBA playoffs =P.

I’m actually writing this blog entry from Windows Live Writer. If you’ve never heard of it, it’s part of the Windows Live Essential suite of applications by Microsoft. It provides an interface for you to write, edit and publish blog entries on a variety of different blogging platforms including Windows Live, WordPress, Blogger, LiveJournal, SharePoint and some more…  I’ve never actually tried any other third-party blogging applications, so this is brand new to me. I did have some gripes about the online WYSIWYG editor that WordPress provides. I found it to be a clunky experience, it was definitely not as responsive as a desktop application. I even enabled the Google Gears cache functionality which is supposed to make faster. I have to admit, I did see some performance increase, but still not the same experience as a native application. Adding photos to a blog entry and then getting them positioned where you want is not the easiest thing in the world. So, I’m hoping this will be a better alternative… maybe it will encourage me to post more ; ). I like the fact that you can edit a post just as you would see it on the screen, then preview it and still have access to the source code! AND it’s a super responsive interface. Since this is a desktop application, I believe you have the option to save the draft locally before publishing… this means that you can write posts even while offline! Maybe one day… if I’m really eager to blog in an area without internet connection, I’ll try out this offline feature, haha.

This is me testing out the “Insert Image” feature…

bg

Pretty sweet.

So another year of my life has passed… and before you ask me what I did on my birthday… well I’m not big on birthdays, so it was just like another day with more birthday wishes =P.

Now I’m going to publish this post and see what happens…

Leave a Reply

