Land of the Free, Home of the Brave

October 23, 2013

Why… hello there! I almost forgot about you… almost. It’s been over 3 years since my last post! So much has happened, I don’t even know where to begin. Some pretty big events include: moving to Bellevue for an Internship, graduating University, moving out of Toronto to Seattle (in the U.S. of A) for work, and starting my first full-time just job to name a few.

It’s pretty interesting that I ended up in the USA because my family entertained the thought of moving down here back when I was in middle, but I *strongly* opposed that move mainly because of two reasons: no hockey, and American history (learning about Canadian history was good enough for me). Now, only a few short years later, I find myself living and working in the land of the free. Who would’ve thunk it? Not me, no siree.

One of the two reasons why I didn’t want to move here was mitigated because I finished school, so no American history for me! But how have I been able to cope with the lack of hockey?? Short answer: I haven’t, I’ve been slowly going insane =( I NEED MY HOCKEY!! Oy, but since there’s really nothing I can do about it and I didn’t want to sit around pining all day, I figured I would try to learn about America’s most popular sport… Football! Haha, Jacob playing football!? That’s crazy, right!? But not! I joined a flag football league with some of my colleagues and I’m starting to become a Seattle Seahawks fan (who have come off to an amazing start this season — 6-1!).

As I learn more about the sport, different positions and strategies, I’ve realized that Football mirrors the traditional core American values of different types of people binding and working together to achieve a common goal. All the individual members have distinct skills which contribute to the greater good of the collective unit. Each position in Football is unique and there’s a broad spectrum of athletic skills and body types. In this respect, it’s unlike any other sport I’ve played. For example, you wouldn’t want a lineman playing as a wide receiver. You also can’t succeed with a whole team of big strong lineman, nor can you succeed with an entire team of quick wide receivers. You really do have  to make use of the differences in size and skill to help the team succeed. All these different athletes who specialize in their respective positions are needed in order to be the best possible team. I think that’s why Americans love this sport so much. It reflects their diversity and how a group of seemingly different people can come together, work together, and in the end, reach a common goal.

That’s all I have for now… hopefully, my next post won’t be in 3 years.

Leave a Reply

